Private and Public Projects

With YouTrack InCloud production opening, we introduce a concept of private and public projects.

Public project is a project, which is accessible for viewing to at least one user, and you cannot restrict viewing access to it.
Private project is a project, to which you can restrict reading access to any user, thus potentially you can hide a private project from all users in the system.

Technically this option is defined by the state of the guest user account.

In YouTrack InCloud, in the free subscription plan, the guest user is always enabled, cannot be banned or deleted, and it always has default 'Read issue' and 'Read comment' permissions in all projects, which cannot be disabled.
In particular, these permissions allow user to:

  • View any issue (public fields only)
  • View comments, which don't have visibility restrictions.

Thus, for free subscription plan, private projects are not supported and all projects are public.

For all commercial plans, guest user can be banned, thus the private projects are supported.

See this article for more information about the private projects.

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Have more questions?

Submit a request