I created a custom field for "creation date" to record the date that the issue was created in you track. It will allow me to select today's date or a previous date (for older issues) which is what I want.
What I dont want is have the "X" for clearing the date out. I could not find any information in the help on getting rid of this "X" for clearing the date. I dont want anyone to accidentaly clear the date out once it has been added.