In our YouTrack project all issues are historically visible to "all users" which is also the group with the same name that shipped with YouTrack.
Now we are adding new users with restricted permissions and they should only see a small part of the issues. They should start seeing no issues at all, and then single issues (old issues and new issues) should selectively made visible to them.
I tried different ways to make this happen, but without success.
1) If I create a group for them "restricted group" - then I can give this group permission to view issues. And then they can see all issues, and if I uncheck the "view issues" privelege checkbox, then they cannot see any issue at all. This does not help me, as they either see all issues or none.
2) I tried to change the "issues is visible to" field in a single issue and set it to "restricted group". But YouTrack won't let me, only "all users" or "project XY Assignees" can be selected here. Edit: this is still true, after I add myself to "restricted group", see Alex.V's answer to this question
So I deleted the group "restricted group" and tried to work with "assignees":
3) I choose an issue and set its visibility to "My Project Assignees". And then I add a user to the "My Projects Assignees" group. But now the user can see ALL the issues in that project. In the group settings I find out, that the checkbox "Read issues" in the definition of this group's role "Developer" can be unchecked, and this changes visibility. But again for all Issues! And it does not matter If I set the visibility for the issue to "My Project Assignees" or to "All users" - now the user can see no issues at all, after unchecking the checkbox.
This is YouTrack 4.2.2 (build #6029 [23-May-2013 18:30]
Please show me a way to selectively make issues visible to a group of users and invisible again. I know it is possibly quite simple, so what is my mistake?