Merge user with 'guest'

Up until YouTrack 5.0.3 it was possible to merge users with the 'guest' user. Since upgrading to YouTrack 5.0.5 the 'Merge' hyperlink next to the 'guest' user in the administration area of our YouTrack instance has been missing.

Is this on purpose and if so, how could we merge user accounts with the 'guest' user again?
6 comments
Comment actions Permalink
Hi Jochen,

Merging users with 'guest' and 'root' users are not allowed.
You only can only merge 'root' user with another one so that 'root' will leave and the user will be removed.
What's your use-case?

Thank you.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Hi Andrey,

Merging users with 'guest' and 'root' users are not allowed.

This functionality was available up until and including YouTrack 5.0.3. Since the upgrade to YouTrack 5.0.5 the "Merge" link for 'guest' is missing and if I wanted to merge another user account it says "Selected user will be merged with 'User Name (user)' and removed." which means that the 'guest' account would be removed.

To be clear: We merged other user accounts into the 'guest' user account.

What's your use-case?

We have a 50 users license of YouTrack and due to some fluctations in our teams (think short time contractors or interns) we usually merge individual user accounts into the 'guest' user account when the respective person doesn't need access to YouTrack any more.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Jochen,

Yes, this functionality was available till 5.0.3. It was disabled due to issues connected with permissions of the merged users. Currently we implemented a new logic for this option and will enable the option in YouTrack 5.0.6.

Sorry for the inconvenience.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Thanks for your reply. I'm looking forward to YouTrack 5.0.6 then.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Andrey, maybe you could kindly point me to the related issue(s) in YouTrack so I can follow/subscribe them.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Jochen,

Sure. Here is the related task

Thank you.
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.