How to restore deleted issue?

I managed to accidentally delete an entire issue instead of just a comment on it (that trashcan icon was just too convenient, I guess – it sometimes ends up pretty close to the comments). What's the easiest way to get it back? An auto-backup was run this morning; is it possible to somehow extract the issue's details from that? If not, what's the process to temporarily switch to the backup database, export the issue, then switch back?

I'm assuming, of course, that there's not a feature in YouTrack where I can simply click a button to undelete an issue. If there is, by all means, point out the obvious to me! But I'm under the impression that deleted is, well, deleted.
3 comments
Comment actions Permalink
Hello Bob,

If possible, you may set up recent back up on a separate server and import the issue as followings.
When click on trashcan, you have to confirm removing, so if it' clicked mistakenly, there is a way back.
To delete comment, there is a trashcan in front of particular comment.
As for
But I'm under the impression that deleted is, well, deleted

what behaviour do you expect for delete action?

Thank you.
0
Comment actions Permalink
When click on trashcan, you have to confirm removing, so if it' clicked mistakenly, there is a way back.
To delete comment, there is a trashcan in front of particular comment.


Yeah, I know. What happened is that the issue had enough comments that the page scrolled, and when the page scrolls, the page header (including the delete-issue button) remains fixed at the top. The comment I wanted to delete was scrolled to the top of the page so that it appeared right underneath that main header. When I went to delete the comment, the delete-issue button, for whatever reason, caught my eye more than the delete-comment button, and I clicked it. Part of it was that I was moving quickly (I know I can back out of a comment deletion until I refresh the page, so I don't get too concerned about them), and part of it was probably that the delete-comment button is light gray until you hover over it while the delete issue button is always drawn in full-contrast. The warning doesn't help in this case, as both buttons produce a warning; thus, I was expecting it and just clicked right through without reading closely. It wasn't until a suddenly and unexpectedly found myself looking at an issue list instead of the issue that I realized something was amiss, and then it still took me a minute to figure out what had just happened.

what behaviour do you expect for delete action?


No expectation, really, but many applications never actually delete data. They simply mark it as deleted, which keeps it from showing up in searches, reports, etc. But, it's a reversible action in that you can dig down into an admin interface and undo it. That said, I'm fine with (maybe prefer) YT not having that, but it would be nice if the delete-issue action offered a temporary undo option like the delete-comment action does. Actually, Gmail offers a great UI model with it's archive function that would be a perfect fit to delete-issue in YT. I'll create an issue requesting this.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Just as a followup, I added a comment to an existing issue:

https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/JT-19629#comment=27-824610
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.