Project keys remain after project has been deleted.

I was putting together a project to demonstrate Gantt Charts. Along the way I hit a snag, so I deleted the project. I then created a new project using the original name, but it wouldn't let me add the Issue Tracker service, telling me:

"Project is not unique. An entity with the same properties already exists. Edit one or more properties and try again."

I found that by changing the key, I could create a new project. However, the old key persists: when I create a new Issue and open the dropdown to assign the project, I can see the original key from the deleted project and the new key from the current project. This is not desirable, as people may choose the redundant key.

1 comment
Comment actions Permalink

Hi! 

I'm Sergey from the YouTrack team. 

It appears as though the project was not removed fully for some reason. As the first step, let's sync data between YouTrack and a service (Hub) where projects are stores. Please proceed to the following page `yourYoutrackURL/admin/ring`. On this page, click the buttons Sync, Export, Invalidate caches, and then Run diagnostics. Then apply quick fixes if there are any.

Then check if the removed project re-appeared in the projects list and remove it fully, or if the reported issue persists. 

If any questions appear, let me know. 

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.