Prune YouTrack Server Database?

I've been testing YouTrack and part of that required me to create tons of issues for testing, delete them and add them again. My database is now 100 MB uncompressed with all issues deleted. I don't want to have to recreate and re-setup my projects just to clear out this useless data. Is there a way that I can force it to fully clear out any deleted issues and projects?

What is the point of even keeping this data? I see no way of recovering deleted issues or projects.

3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hi!

I'm Sergey from the YouTrack team.

To clear the storage, you need to delete the whole project, not separate issues. A separately deleted issue stays on disk for two weeks and only then frees up the space. In cloud instances, it lets us restore the deleted issues within two weeks. 

0
Comment actions Permalink

Sergey Merzlov Hi Sergey, I have user that deleted an issue and needs me to recover it for her? Would you able to provide steps to do this?

Here's my YouTrack version 2022.2.60273

I have backups done everyday and so maybe this issue is in the back up. We installed YouTrack using the MSI distribution.

Is there a way for me to recover this deleted issue? I do have a test VM available to temporarily try this if there is a way. Thank you so much for your help!

-Vidhya

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi! 

As I mentioned in my initial response, the issue restoration applies to cloud instances only, unfortunately. In your case, you host YouTrack on your end, so such option is not present. You can only restore the whole backup to the point when this issue was present. To not lose new data, you can do it on a test server and retrieve issue details.

Also, we have a related feature request in our public tracker: https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/JT-19629/Undelete-issues. Feel free to vote for it if interested. 

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.