Visibility Changes when Changing Projects

For an existing issue that is visible only to a specific group; when the project for that issue changes it's visibility changes to "All Users".

I can't figure out how to keep this from happening and it is keeping us from being able to make our youtrack instance visible to the general public.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
0
9 comments
Hello Steve,

Under Administration > Settings > Users > disable Guest account or just manage Guest user permissions.

Let me know if need an assistance with this.
0
Hi Andrey,
I'm a little confused. We don't currently allow guest access, but we want to turn this on so guests can see issues that are marked as viewable by "All Users". The problem is that when an issue changes from project A to project B, the visibility of the issue always changes to "All Users" even if it has been set to something else.

There are plenty of issues in our system that we don't want everyone to be able to see because they include things like email addresses or file attachments that are considered private.

I definitely need some assistance:)
Thanks,
  • Steve
0
Steve, do you have customizable workflows, that could do it?

With default settings visibility group shouldn't be lost.
0
Hi Dmitry,
Here's what I just set up to make sure the workflows weren't messing with anything.

I created two new projects "TEST1" and "TEST2" in our youtrack. Both of these projects have absolutely no workflows attached to them.

I then created a single issue in TEST1 that was set up as visible only to the Developer group.  When I change the issue to be under the TEST2 project, the visibility changes to "All Users"

I would really appreciate any sort or help with this. It is the one thing that is holding us back from being able to let our user community view issues that that we deem allowable to be viewed by all users.
Thanks,
  • Steve
0
Well, it's look like a real bag, please follow JT-24266.
0
Am I supposed to be able to see that issue? The system says I don't have permissions.
0
Since this issue hasn't been fixed yet, is there any way to set up a workflow that would at least show a warning to set the visibility when an issue changes projects?
0
You can provide the following simple workflow:
rule Warning on project change 
 
when project.changed { 
  message("Please pay attention that visibility group can be changed."); 
}
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.