Questions about YouTrack upgrade procedure

Hi,

I'm running YouTrack 5.2 (build #8723) and some time ago I started getting this notification: "YouTrack 5.2.1 (build #8778) is available" (it shows up at the top of the browser window).

I'd like to upgrade in order to keep my YouTrack instance current. However, I'm concerned about a couple of things:

  • I've added new (custom) workflows to the default installation
  • I've customized some of the workflows provided by YouTrack (e.g., notifyMultipleUnregisteredUsers)

So I'd like to ask the following questions:

  1. Is there a documented / recommended procedure for performing the upgrade?
  2. Will my own (new) workflows survive the upgrade?
  3. What will happen to the standard workflows that I've customized? For example, it would be important for me to keep my own version of notifyMultipleRegisteredUsers. However, I'm afraid that an upgrade would overwrite it with a new version and I would lose my customizations.

Thanks in advance!

Alex
1 comment
Comment actions Permalink
Hello Alex,

Thanks for your questions.
Here are the answers:
1. Upgrade instructions
2. New workflows will be left without changes
3. Default workflows will be left with your recent changes after upgrade. But, please note, if there is also our update for the workflow, you'll be asked to chose what version you'd like to save. To prevent removals and changed default workflows data lost and etc, we strongly recommend to make duplicates of default workflows (so to create new) and edit these new versions of default workflows.

Thank you.
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.